top of page

How To Write A Novel Series - Story Bible Creation and Outlining


This is second post in my 2 part series, How To Write A Novel Series. Check out the Post 1 here:


Once you find the ideas that excite you and think would excite others, it is time to organize those ideas into a framework for writing. At this stage I create a story bible and an outline. I focus on the five main elements in a story to create this document.


  1. Theme - What is the essential question you are trying to answer?

  2. Inciting incident - What incident (or multiple incidents) occur to make the main character hit a deciding moment in the story where they have to make a choice?

  3. Subplots - What plots will I use to support the main plot?

  4. The all is lost moment (or multiple moments) - What will occur to make the main character feel like all could be lost?

  5. Ending - How will I answer the theme? Note: If you are writing a series, leave some questions unanswered. If you resolve all of them, what would bring your reader back to read the next book in your series?


Here is the layout of my story bible:

  • Book title ideas

  • Troupe I am writing

  • Characters

    • Appearance

    • Personality

    • Job/Career

    • Family

  • Location

  • Back stories to carry over (if writing a series)

  • Theme/question I want to answer

  • Inciting Incident

  • High level story line with subplots and ending

  • Timeline including the all is lost moment

  • List of events by chapter

  • Notes for back matter


Please note that while I start my story bible and outline, I never have a fully drafted one before I start writing. It is probably due to excitement and impatience! I draft a few chapters at a time and then go back to fill in holes and redirect the story, if needed. I consider my story bible a living document that will change and grow with my novel.


I hope this helps to give you an idea of how an author gets started and takes a great idea and turns it into a novel!



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page